TASS, May 5. The national teams of Qatar and Japan will participate in the 2019 America’s Cup, which will be held in Brazil. This was reported by the press service of the Confederation of South American Football (CONMEBOL).

It is noted that the invitation of these teams to participate in the America’s Cup is associated with great interest in the tournament in Asia, and also with the fact that CONMEBOL seeks to contribute to the development of football around the world.

The America’s Cup is held under the aegis of CONMEBOL since 1916. Since 1993, 12 teams have participated in the tournament, in addition to the ten national teams that are members of the confederation (Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Paraguay, Bolivia), two more national teams are invited. Most often, additional countries receive membership in the Confederation of Football of North and Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF), but in 1999 in the America’s Cup participated in the national team of Japan. In Qatar in 2022 will host the World Cup.

The Cup of America will be held in Brazil from June 14 to July 7, 2019. The current champion of the tournament is the national team of Chile.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.